Detached views are views that are shown in a separate window with a smaller trim. They work like other views except they they are always shown in front of the Workbench window.
To detach a view:
To restore the view to be shown inside of the Workbench window, drag it into the Workbench window.
You can also detach a view by selecting Detached from the context menu that opens when you click the icon at the left side of the view's title bar.
Moving and docking views
Saving a user-defined perspective